101st SA Open

2011 marks the playing of the 101st SA Open which will be contested at Serengeti Golf and Wildlife Estate. It also marks the end to another great season on the Sunshine Tour.

And along with a great course comes a magnificent field featuring several top South African golfers.Ernie Els will be back to defend his title after he took the 100th SA Open Championship at Durban Country Club last year.

But Retief Goosen also be back with a mind to taking the title from Els, who snatched victory from Goose by one stroke last year.

And not just the South African Open trophy will be up for grabs come the final round, but the leading amateur will also receive the Freddie Tait trophy, while the Sid Brews trophy for the Order of Merit, the Bobby Locke Trophy for the Rookie of the year, and the Gary Player Trophy for the leading stroke average, will also be up for offer.

Prize Fund: €1 million

Format: 156 professionals make up the field for the first two days. The cut will be the top 65 professionals and ties after 36 holes.

Tournament director: Gary Todd (Sunshine Tour), David Williams (European Tour)

Tournament co-ordinator: Dan Zwiebel

Rules Officials: Dirk Cloete, Ludwick Manyama, Neil Homann, Mats Lanner, Paul Carrigill, Andre Pieterse, Bruce Younge, Gerhard Conradie, Geoff Taylor, Tannah Harris, Eden Thompson

Media: Duncan Cruickshank (Communications Director), Mike Taylor (Press Officer)

Tournament secretary: Dornay Lombard (Sunshine Tour), Dorothee Demoulins (European Tour)

Weather: Evert Scholtz

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport