Derik leads 10 players into Joburg Open

Derik Ferreira fired a four-under-par 67 on Royal Johannesburg and Kensington’s West Course on Tuesday to lead 10 players into the €1.3-million Joburg Open to be played from Thursday.

The Joburg Open will be contested by 206 professionals and four amateurs over the first two rounds on the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington East and West courses, after which the cut will be made and the final two rounds will be played on the East Course.

Ferreira was joined on that score by veteran Ashley Roestoff, who won 10 tournaments on the Sunshine Tour in the 1990s, and by Jeff Inglis of England.

The other players through to the main draw were Cameron Johnston, England’s Jeremy Kavanagh, Michael du Toit, Mark Fensham, Patrick Spindler, Dean Burmester and John McClean.

Burmester and McClean were involved in a four-way playoff for the final two spots with Callie Swart and Zimbabwe’s Sean Farrell after they had all finished on two-under-par 69.

The qualifiers will be up against defending champion Charl Schwartzel, as well as European Ryder Cup captain’s assistant Darren Clarke from Northern Ireland.

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport