Joburg Open

In 2007 the inaugural Joburg Open was won by Argentinian Ariel Canete, who closed the event at 19-under-par, two strokes clear of Andrew McLardy.

The following year would saw the first South African champion, as Richard Sterne beat Garth Mulroy and Swede Magnus A Carlsson in a playoff. The trio closed the event at 13-under before Sterne came out victorious on the second playoff hole.

Andrew Mclardy was once again denied victory in 2009 when Dane Anders Hansen sneaked victory by one stroke, closing the event at 15-under-par.

2010 would see the lowest winning score of 23-under-par by Charl Schwartzel. He cruised to a six-stroke victory over Keith Horne and Northern Ireland’s Darren Clarke.

The following year Schwartzel was once again on form and tallied 19-under-par for the tournament, sailing to a four-stroke victory over Garth Mulroy. Schwartzel successfully defended the title he won the year before by shooting four rounds in the 60s – including a sensational 61 on day two – that saw him streak clear of the field.

Branden Grace began his stellar 2012 season when he became the sixth winner of the event. The then-23-year-old reached a 17-under-par total to outdo England’s Jamie Elson by one stroke. He went on to claim a further four professional titles in the 2012 season!

2007 Ariel Canete (ARG) -19

2008 Richard Sterne (RSA) -13

2009 Anders Hansen (DEN) -15

2010 Charl Schwartzel (RSA) -23

2011 Charl Schwartzel (RSA) -19

2012 Branden Grace (RSA) -17

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport