Louis makes big move towards Investec Cup

Defending a five-shot lead at the shortest course on the Sunshine Tour’s rotation is not an easy task when the wind gusts up to 45 kilometres per hour. Such was the task of Louis de Jager during the final round of the Vodacom Origins of Golf presented by Samsung and he relinquished his five-stroke cushion during regulation play.


The 27-year-old finished the 54-hole tournament on two-under-par and tied for first place with Jaco Ahlers and Haydn Porteous, which meant a sudden-death playoff on the 18th.


De Jager passed the test and made par on the first extra hole to clinch victory. The second win of his career was worth 130 Investec Cup points and boosted the Centurion local up to 16th in the Chase to the Investec Cup.


“I had a good look at the standings before this event. I missed out last year and it was big, so I’m very pleased that I jumped up a few spots,” he said.


The 54-hole events of the winter season provide the Sunshine Tour regulars a good chance to earn big points and this week the Vodacom Origins of Golf presented by Samsung tournament offered up a total of 1000 points.


“These events of the winter are keeping us sharp and helping to give us a good chance of making it to the Investec Cup. The more points you can make, the better, so I’m looking forward to the next few events,” De Jager said.


The Chase to the 2015 Investec Cup began at this year’s Telkom Business PGA Championship and incorporates every Sunshine Tour event until the week preceding the Investec Cup tournament next March. Bigger events, such as those co-sanctioned with the European Tour, offer more points.


The top 30 players on the Investec Cup standings qualify for the Investec Cup tournament next March, where they will be playing for a shared bonus pool of R10 million, plus the prize money for the tournament.


“Anyone can win the Investec Cup, as long as you’ve made it into the event you have a chance – you’ve just got to get there. It’s nice to be in that top 30 and in the chase,” said the latest Sunshine Tour champion.


© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport