Open Championship tee times released


139th Open Championship - Final RoundLouis Oosthuizen, winner of the Claret Jug in 2010 the last time The Open was played at St Andrews, will tee off at 9.55am alongside Tiger Woods, champion golfer in 2000 and 2005 over the historic Old Course, and Australian Jason Day.

It is just one of many intriguing groupings revealed with the publishing of the draw for rounds one and two of The 144th Open Championship, which begins on Thursday.

Jordan Spieth will begin his bid to become Champion Golfer of the Year when he tees up at 9.33am on Thursday morning. Spieth arrives at the Old Course as holder of both the Masters Tournament and the US Open titles and this week he will look to become just the second player – after Ben Hogan in 1953 – to win the first three Majors of the year. He tees off alongside Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama and Dustin Johnson.

Thomas Bjørn is in the first group teeing off at 6.32am with Rod Pampling hitting the opening blow and Greg Owen completing the threeball. Groups will then tee off at 11 minute intervals until finally, at 4.13pm Taichi Teshima, Rickard Karlberg and Robert Dinwiddie take to the links.

There is sure to be a rousing reception for Tom Watson, who will be playing his last Open, when he tees off at 8.33am on Thursday morning in the company of a fellow former Open Champion Ernie Els and American Brandt Snedeker.

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport