Rookie Roundup

It was a big week for JG Claassen: Not only did he win his maiden title as a professional when he took the MTC Namibia PGA Championship, but he vaulted into second place on the Sunshine Tour’s Rookie of the Year race listings.

He earned himself R190,200 with his victory, which came in his fifth tournament and in the second in which he had made the cut.

That took his earnings for the year so far to R204,491.66, and that’s just shy of R116,00 off the pace set by early leader Allan Versfeld, who, with his share of 46th in Namibia moved to R320,466.60.

Claassen also overtook Dean O’Riley, winner of the Freddie Tait Cup in the 2010 South African Open Championship for the leading amateur. O’Riley managed to close the gap between himself and Versfeld, even though he lost second spot in the race to Claassen. He finished in a share of 28th and is now on R107,052.66 in fourth behind Canadian Adam Hadwin.

The list:
1 Allan Versfeld R 320,466.60
2 JG Claassen R 204,491.66
3 Adam Hadwin (CAN) R 122,050.00
4 Dean O’Riley R 107,052.66
5 Daniel Vancsik (ARG) 52 R 78,672.00
6 Ryan Strauss R 30,575.00
7 Bryce Easton R 16,425.00
8 Johan Bekker R 13,000.00
9 Tyrone Ryan R 8,827.50
10 Andre van Zyl R 8,500.00
11 Divan Gerber R 5,640.00
12 Lourens Kleynhans R 5,640.00

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport