Sunshine Tour Q-School dates announced

The Sunshine Tour Qualifying School for 2013 will take place in Bloemfontein from January 15-19, the tour announced on Monday.

The 90-hole tournament will be played over the Schoeman Park and Bloemfontein golf club layouts, and is open to male professional players over the age of 18 at the commencement of the Q-School, and all male amateur golfers over 18.

Players will play 36 holes on each course over the first four days. After 72 holes there will be a cut to the leading 60 players and ties. On conclusion of 90 holes, the leading 30 players and ties will be ranked according to score. Each of these players will be eligible for membership in Category 13 of the Sunshine Tour for the 2013 season.

The deadline for entries for non-Sunshine Tour members is Monday 3 December 2012 at midnight, and for 2011 Sunshine Tour members on Tuesday 18 December 2012 at noon.

Two of the Sunshine Tour Q-School’s top graduates from 2012 are currently battling for the title of Rookie of the Year, with Danie van Tonder, who finished second to Ruan de Smidt, building up a healthy lead after his second-place finish in last week’s Vodacom Origins of Golf event at Selborne Park Golf Club in KwaZulu-Natal.

Van Tonder currently occupies 28th spot on the Sunshine Tour Order of Merit.

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport