Telkom PGA Pro-Am

The relatively young Centurion Country Club layout will be in the spotlight once more this week as the Telkom PGA Pro-Am returns after a one-year hiatus. The 2013 event marks the tournament’s eighth year.

Two years ago the ever-consistent Jaco van Zyl held off a charge from Garth Mulroy, who carded a final-round 65. Van Zyl closed with a 69 to win by one stroke and defend the title he won in 2009. It was his third win of the season in which he won four times.

Previous winners of the Telkom PGA Pro-Am also include: Thomas Aiken (’05), Doug McGuigan (’06), Michiel Bothma (’07), and Merrick Bremner (’08). Van Zyl will be in the field after his third-place finish in last week’s Omega European Masters in Switzerland.

Prize fund: R600 000

Format: 72 professionals and 72 amateurs make up the field for the first two days with the pro-am teams each having three amateurs and one professional. The cut will be the top 40 players and ties after 36 holes with the final day being professionals only.

Tournament director: Gary Todd
Tournament co-ordinator: Pauli van Meersbergen
Referees: Dan Zwiebel, Lance Michler, Ludwick Manyama, Henri Grobler
Tournament secretary: Dornay Lombard
Communications manager: Mike Taylor

© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport