Van Zyl hoping for Investec Cup form

16_IC_VanZylJ_update3EDITHe’s played five tournament rounds at Millvale Private Retreat, and 2013 Chase to Investec Cup champion Jaco Van Zyl returns there next week to see whether he can reproduce the kind of form he showed there that year.

He opened his title-winning effort with a six-under-par 66 there, and, the last round he played there – in the second round of the 2015 tournament – produced an equally impressive five-under 67.

Van Zyl will be heading into next week’s R10-million Bonus Pool event as one of three men to have previously won the Chase to the Investec Cup. His other rounds at Millvale have been 71, 72 and 73, so he’ll be hoping his last one is reflective of what he can expect this year.

The event, which will have all four rounds at Millvale for the first time, is the final event in the Chase to the Investec Cup, where 16 players will be competing for a share of R10-million. The 16 players to gain entry into the event are the top 16 in the Chase to the Investec Cup rankings. These 16 players have accumulated their points throughout the season at various Sunshine Tour events.

Playing in the Bonus Pool event will be something of which Van Zyl will have great memories because of his victory. Three years later and Van Zyl is placed respectably in seventh position in the rankings.

Fresh off the Eye of Africa PGA Championship win last week, Van Zyl looks to be in some brilliant form. Last week represented the first time in his playing career that he had gone three rounds in a row without making a bogey, and keeping his nerve going down the 18th in the play-off with Dean Burmester certainly signaled his intentions for 2016.

Van Zyl and the other 15 golfers will have to do extremely well in order to beat his four-round total of 21-under-par – although that score was matched that year by Hennie Otto, whom Van Zyl beat in a play-off.

Previous winners of the Chase to the Investec Cup are Trevor Fisher Jnr who finished 16-under-par in 2014 and Jaco Ahlers who was nine-under when he won in 2015.


© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport