Warren’s consistency pays off in Chase to Investec Cup

Charl Schwartzel is the new leader in the Chase to the Investec Cup standings after his victory in the Alfred Dunhill Championship, but Warren Abery is showing just what consistency can do to a player’s position in the rankings.


Abery came ninth in the South African Open Championship, and then finished in a share of ninth in the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek last week. With the large number of points on offer in the tournaments co-sanctioned by the Sunshine Tour and the European Tour, Abery finds himself in sixth position with 850.63 points.


Qualification for the 30 places in the final event of the Chase to the Investec Cup is determined through a points system that incorporates 21 regular-season Sunshine Tour events, beginning with the Golden Pilsener Zimbabwe Open in April and ending at the Telkom PGA Championship in March next year.


The points on offer vary based on the prize fund and size of the tournament, and events co-sanctioned with the European Tour such as the SA Open Championship offer up a massive 10,000 points, 900 of which go to the winner.


After the resounding success of the inaugural Chase to the Investec Cup series, the 2013-14 series will now feature a lucrative bonus pool of R10-million, double that of 2013. The winner of the 2014 Chase to the Investec Cup will win R3.5 million, with the second-placed finisher winning R950,000, and third R700,000, whilst 30th spot in the bonus pool pay-out will take home R50,000.


Schwartzel has 1,380 points, with Hennie Otto in second with 1,128. South African Open champion Morten Orum Madsen of Denmark is in third with 1,082, Jbe’ Kruger is fourth with 926.17, and Ulrich van den Berg is fifth with 906.13.


Abery has played in 16 events, but it is the last two which have given him the boost to the position he currently enjoys.


In 30th spot is Doug McGuigan with 462.50 points, and the man sitting just outside the top 30 in 31st position is still Ruan de Smidt with 451.91 points after his share of 37th at the Alfred Dunhill Championship.


© 2016 Sunshine Tour. All rights reserved. Website constructed by OCS Sport