Karen Masters – a truly African tournament

4th July 2018 | Sunshine Tour

Karen Masters – a truly African tournament

Share on:

The Sunshine Tour’s move to stage a tournament in Kenya not only underpins its commitment to ensuring players have enough playing and earning opportunities, it also speaks to the organisation’s vision of developing golf in the continent.

While making history by staging a professional tournament for the first time in the East African region, the Sunshine Tour, along with the KCB Bank, the title sponsors of next month’s KCB Karen Masters, has afforded an opportunity to players from countries who would otherwise struggle to make it onto the Sunshine Tour for one reason or the other.

Players like Matias Calderon (Chile), Ty Capps (USA), Frederik From (Sweden) and Antonio Rosado (Portugal) are but a few who represent countries outside of the African continent and as their stories will show, most have enjoyed a great deal of success on the Sunshine Tour, and the KCB Karen Masters is set to unleash talent from a whole host of African countries to complement this vision.

For the first time, countries like Ethiopia, Tanzania, Senegal, Rwanda, Malawi, Ghana and the Seychelles have representation in a Sunshine Tour tournament to make this event a truly African spectacle.

As a source of inspiration and encouragement for most of the players from the 22 countries represented in the Karen Masters field and who will be making their debut starts on the Sunshine Tour, a number of non-South African players have done well on the circuit, and Matias Calderon’s victory at the Eye of Africa PGA Championship and Rhys Enoch’s triumph at the Cape Town Open presented by Sun International stand to attest.

Apart from Europeans and South Americans who have achieved great success on this circuit, Zambia’s Madalitso Muthiya also boasts a win while Zimbabwean veterans Nick Price and Mark McNulty are legendary on tour. More recent Zimbabwean victories have been notched up by the likes of Marc Cayeux, Ryan Cairns and Mark Williams.

South Africa, Chile, Greece, Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Nigeria, Senegal, Ethiopia, Botswana, Ghana, Malawi, Seychelles, Italy, England, Portugal, Sweden, United States and Australia are all countries with representation in this inaugural tournament.

Latest Sunshine Tour News