Kruger eager to emulate Price

13th April 2016

Kruger eager to emulate Price

Share on:

As Nick Price was named captain of the International Presidents Cup team for the third time yesterday, Jbe’ Kruger will aim to become only the second player alongside Price to win the Golden Pilsener Zimbabwe Open three times.

The 2016 Golden Pilsener Zimbabwe Open, being held at Royal Harare Golf Club, will feature a 156-man field and a purse of R1.8-million.

Price won his national open in 1995, ’97 and ’98, while Kruger tasted victory in the country’s capital in 2010 and 2014.

With a strong field in contention this week, Kruger is able to boost his confidence with some fond memories of Royal Harare Golf Club. He said, “Its always nice coming back, you’ve got all those nice memories. Coming to a place you’ve won at, it always helps a bit with the confidence.”

As a favourite venue on tour, Royal Harare Golf Club has always been famed for their immaculate greens and this year is no different.

“Obviously the greens are always good when we play here. I think the key is to hit the fairways. The golf course gets difficult when you don’t hit the fairways. I see that the rough is longer this year, so the first thing is to hit the fairways and then obviously make some putts,” he added.

Kruger will have to overcome a host of players looking to get their Southern African leg of the Sunshine Tour off to a fast start, including defending champion Dean Burmester, as well as several up and coming youngsters.

He said, “I think this whole game is about confidence and self belief, so if you can get that high of a win, there’s nothing better for going forward.”

With rain softening up the course, the championship record of 22-under-par set by Price in 1995 could be under threat and we look forward to seeing the players give it their all.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>