3rd August 2013 | Sunshine Tour

Telkom PGA Champs

Share on:

The Telkom PGA Championship is one of the most prestigious golf tournaments on the Sunshine Tour. It is currently played at the Country Club Johannesburg.

The current South African PGA Championship was founded in 1965, largely thanks to Gary Player and Brian Henning. New sponsors in 1972 gave the championship a home at The Wanderers Golf Club where it remained until 1995, when it became the first tournament in South Africa to be co-sanctioned by the European Tour. The following year Alfred Dunhill took over from Lexington as title sponsors, breaking a 23-year association with the PGA.

Following the 1999 event, Dunhill decided to end their association with the South African PGA and create their own tournament, the Alfred Dunhill Championship, which also replaced the PGA Championship on the European calendar. As a result, there was no PGA Championship held in 2000, but the tournament returned to the Sunshine Tour the following year with a new sponsor. It is currently the richest sole sanctioned event on the Sunshine Tour.

The South African PGA Championship, along with the South African Open and the South African Masters form the Triple Crown of South African golf. Winning all three titles in the same season is a feat only achieved by Bobby Locke, Gary Player and Ernie Els.

CHAMPIONS SINCE 1965 (stroke play era)
1965 Harold Henning Houghton Golf Club 281
1966 Harold Henning Germiston Golf Club 272
1967 Harold Henning Germiston Golf Club 275
1969 Gary Player Germiston Golf Club 272
1970 Denis Hutchinson Germiston Golf Club 278
1971 Feb Tienie Britz Germiston Golf Club 277
1971 Nov Tienie Britz (*Peter Oosterhuis/Don Gammon) Huddle Park (Blue Course) 280
1972 Harold Henning Wanderers Golf Club 279
1973 Tom Weiskopf USA Wanderers Golf Club 273
1974 Dale Hayes Wanderers Golf Club 271
1975 Dale Hayes Wanderers Golf Club 266
1976 Dale Hayes Wanderers Golf Club 266
1977 John Bland Wanderers Golf Club 275
1978 Hale Irwin USA Wanderers Golf Club 275
1979 Gary Player (Reduced to 54 holes) Wanderers Golf Club 203
1980 Hugh Baiocchi Wanderers Golf Club 268
1982 Gary Player Wanderers Golf Club 272
1983 Corey Pavin USA Wanderers Golf Club 270
1984 Gavan Levenson Wanderers Golf Club 271
1985 Chris Williams Wanderers Golf Club 272
1986 Bobby Cole Wanderers Golf Club 265
1987 Fulton Allem Wanderers Golf Club 268
1988 David Feherty IRE Wanderers Golf Club 267
1989 Tony Johnstone ZIM (*Chris Williams) Wanderers Golf Club 269
1990 Fulton Allem Wanderers Golf Club 266
1991 Roger Wessels (*Mark James/Hugh Royer) Wanderers Golf Club 271
1992 Ernie Els Wanderers Golf Club 271
1993 Mark McNulty ZIM Houghton Golf Club 265
1994 David Frost Houghton Golf Club 259
1995 Ernie Els Houghton Golf Club 271
1996 Sven Struver GER (Reduced to 54 holes) Houghton Golf Club 202
1997 Nick Price ZIM (*David Frost) Houghton Golf Club 269
1998 Tony Johnstone ZIM Houghton Golf Club 271
1999 Ernie Els Houghton Golf Club 273
2001 Deane Pappas Woodhill Country Club 269
2002 Chris Williams Woodhill Country Club 271
2003 Michiel Bothma (*Mark Murless) Woodhill Country Club 273
2004 Warrick Druian Woodhill Country Club 267
2005 Warren Abery Woodhill Country Club 273
2006 Gregory Bourdy Country Club Johannesburg 267
2007 Louis Oosthuizen Country Club Johannesburg 266
2008 Louis Oosthuizen Country Club Johannesburg 260
2009 Jaco van Zyl Country Club Johannesburg 270
2010 Michiel Bothma Country Club Johannesburg 268
2011 George Coetzee Country Club Johannesburg 261
2012 Keith Horne Country Club Johannesburg 269
Latest Sunshine Tour News